Jun 25 2023

BBC Philharmonic Orchestra

Bernstein, Boulanger, Coleridge-Taylor, Kodaly

Anja Bihlmaier conductor

Bernstein On the Town: Three Dance Episodes
Lili Boulanger D’un matin de printemps
Coleridge-Taylor Ballade
Kodaly Dances of Galanta

Anja Bihlmaier returns to the theme of dance with Bernstein’s music from On the Town, its jazzy melodies accompanying sailors on leave in 1940s New York. The upbeat mood is continued with Lili Boulanger’s D’un matin de printemps, a playful ode to the pleasures of waking up on a Spring morning. The energetic pace is sustained in Coleridge-Taylor’s Ballade with its lush, sweeping romantic orchestration. The concert ends with the Hungarian folk music-inspired Dances of Galánta by Kodaly.

Further information / Tickets